NCT, aespa, and More: 2020 Mubeat Awards Winners Revealed

Mubeat has unveiled the winners in the nine categories of its 2020 Mubeat Awards, and these include NCT, aespa, Stray Kids, and more!

What is Mubeat Awards?

According to the official website of Mubeat, a platform where various K-pop-related content can be watched, "Mubeat Awards" is an awards ceremony where global K-pop fans can vote for their favorite artists in different categories. Mubeat itself hosts the event every year, and this year, it held the 2020 Mubeat Awards from Jan. 18 to Feb. 1, 2021, with more than one million fans from 203 countries joined.

ALSO READ: aespa Releases Remake Song 'Forever' + MV Becomes Most Viewed in the Last 24 Hours

The awards ceremony has a total of nine categories: Artist of the Year, Song of the Year, MV of the Year, Artist of the Month Grand Finalist, Rookie Artist (Male), Rookie Artist (Female), Best Male Solo, Best Female Solo, and Best Performance Group. The nominees were the ones who released songs or albums during the eligibility period: from Jan. 1 to Dec. 31, 2020.

ALSO LIKE: BTS, NCT, and More: Genius Korea Selects the Top Boy Groups of 2020

In some of the said categories, several K-pop artists claimed the No. 1 spot. Winners of the 2020 Mubeat Awards will have both online and offline benefits. The offline reward will be an advertisement at the Samsung Station COEX for seven days, while the online reward will be several including video ads and music video ads on the Mubeat app.

Winners at the 2020 Mubeat Awards

Artist of the Year

The top 3 idol groups who competed for the "Artist of the Year" award were BTS, NCT, and ATEEZ. In the end, NCT ranked first with a total of 5,326,355 votes, which is 35.1% of the total votes. The top 3 countries that voted for SM Entertainment's boy group were Indonesia, the United States, and the Philippines. ATEEZ is in second place and BTS is in third place.


Rookie Artist (Male)

The top 3 leading nominees in this category were ENHYPEN, TREASURE, and CRAVITY. YG Entertainment's rookie group TREASURE took home the "Rookie Artist" (Male) award with 7,466,629 total votes. The top 3 nations which supported the boy band were Indonesia, the Philippines, and Thailand. ENHYPEN came second and CRAVITY ranked third.

Rookie Artist (Female)

Secret Number, aespa, and Blackswan were the three new K-pop girl groups with the most votes. SM Entertainment's new female group, aespa, won in the "Rookie Artist" (Female) award after having 3,422,046 votes, with fans from Indonesia, the USA, and the Philippines being the top 3 countries with the most voters. Secret Number claimed the No. 2 position, and Blackswan came in third place.


Best Female Solo

In this category, Red Velvet's Wendy and MAMAMOO members Moonbyul and Wheein were the top 3 leading nominees. Moonbyul ended up getting the recognition with a total of 658,765 votes from the Philippines, the USA, and Korea. Wendy and Wheein followed at No. 2 and No. 3, respectively.

Best Performance Group

TXT, Stray Kids, and ATEEZ were the top 3 leading candidates in this category. With final votes of 6,214,215, Stray Kids grabbed the "Best Performance Group" award thanks to its single "God's Menu." Indonesia, the USA, and Mexico were the group's top 3 supporters. TXT's "Blue Hour" came second, and ATTEZ's "INCEPTION" placed third.

ALSO READ: Stray Kids to Conduct First Online Fan Meeting This February 

Other Winners at 2020 Mubeat Awards

Song of the Year

  • Lim Young Woong's "Trust in Me"

MV (music video) of the Year

  • Lim Young Woong's "HERO"

Artist of the Month Grand Finalist

  • Yang Joon Il

Best Male Solo

  • Lim Young Woong

Congratulations to all the winners!

For more news updates about other K-Pop news, always keep your tabs open here at Kpopstarz.

Owned by Kpopstarz

Written by Mhaliya Scott

SM Entertainment
new girl group
YG Entertainment
Mamamoo Moon Byul
'Stray Kids'


Latest Photo Gallery


Real Time Analytics