'10th Korean Music Awards' Winners Revealed!

The 'Korean Music Awards' is a ceremony that started in 2004 and recognizes artists from the past year. The winners are determined by judges that include producers, critics and other professionals.

Psy won 2 awards including "Musician of the Year" and "Song of the Year." 

Singers Jay Park, Lena Park and Busker Busker also won the 'Netizen Award', which was chosen by fans through online polls.

This ceremony is divided into 18 categories including "Album of the Year", "Best Modern Rock Album", "Best Modern Rock Song", "Best Pop Album", "Best Pop Song", "Netizen's Choice Music Group of the Year", "Song of the Year", "Musician of the Year", "Best Dance Electronic Song", "Best Rap/Hip Hop Song", "Best R&B/Soul Song", "Best R&B/Soul Album", "Best Rock Song", "Best Rock Album", "Best Jazz Crossover Performance", "Rookie of the Year", "Achievement Award", and "Popular Music Judge Special Award".

When looking at the ceremony overall, it is much more diverse and rich then the previous year. There is a mix of idol groups, indie/underground and artists who have their own unique style.

Psy, Naul, Busker Busker and others truly showed their own side while G-Dragon, f(x) and others showed off their trendy music and amazing fan base. Indie musicians also rose up from the dark this past year as well.

Here is the list of the winners:

Album of the Year - 3rd Line Butterfly - 'Dreamtalk'
Best Modern Rock Album - 3rd Line Butterfly
Best Modern Rock Song - 3rd Line Butterfly - "The day we breakup is today"

Best Pop Album - Busker Busker - 'Busker Busker'
Best Pop Song - Busker Busker - "Yeosu Night Sea"

Netizens' Choice Male Artist of the Year - Jay Park
Netizens' Choice Female Artist of the Year - Lena Park
Netizens' Choice Music Group of the Year - Busker Busker

Song of the Year - Psy - "Gangnam Style"
Musician of the Year - Psy

Best Dance Electronic Song - f(x) - "Electric Shock"

Best Rap/Hip-Hop Song - G-Dragon - "One of a Kind"
Best Rap/Hip-Hop Album - Soriheda - 'Soriheda 2′

Best R&B/Soul Song - Naul - 'Principle Of My Soul'
Best R&B/Soul Album - Naul - "Memory of the Wind"

Best Rock Song - Jung Cha Sik - "Street Musician"
Best Rock Album - Jung Cha Sik - 'Turbulent Modern Times'

Best Crossover Album - Jambinayi - 'Difference'

Best Jazz Album - Lee Woon Sol - 'Point of Contact'
Best Jazz Crossover Performance - Kang Tae Hwan/So Rae Hwa - "Sorefa"

Rookie of the Year - 404 

Achievement Award - Kim Min Ki

Conference Committee Special Award - Jara Island International Jazz Festival

Congratulations to everyone!

korean music awards
Lena Park
Jay Park
Busker Busker


Latest Photo Gallery


Real Time Analytics