NCT Dream Tops Idol Champ’s ‘Top Summer Anthem’ Chart with ‘We Young’

Two years since its release, NCT Dream’s summer bop “We Young” is still making waves in the scene!

In a recently concluded poll by Idol Champ -- a voting platform for K-pop enthusiasts -- the hit by the NCT sub-unit has been voted as the “top summer anthem,” garnering a total 29.07%.

The survey, which ran from July 26 until August 9, rose to the top after beating strong contenders like EXO’s “Ko Ko Bop” (25.20%), BTS’ “Fire” (17%), and SEVENTEEN’s “Oh My!” (13.62%).

In the poll’s 2018 edition, SEVENTEEN’s “Very Nice” occupied the top spot, followed by “Ko Ko Bop,” Red Velvet’s “Red Flavor,” BTOB’s “I Want to Vacation,” and TWICE’s “Dance the Night Away.”

Originally released in August 2017, the head-bopping tropical house jam showcases Mark, Renjun, Jeno, Haechan, Chenle, and Jisung’s pretty boy charms. The titular track off their debut EP, this song is a perfect fit for the summer season with its youthful lyrics, blithe guitar-and-brass instrumentations, and bright accompanying visuals.

NCT Dream also recorded a Chinese version of the song, which was included in the said mini-album. This record also contains four more cuts namely “La La Love,” “My Page,” “Walk You Home,” and “Trigger the Fever.”

NCT Dream follows an admission-graduation system, with members falling under the 19-year-old mark. In December 2018, Mark “graduated” from the group as he turned 20.

Currently composed of Renjun, Jeno, Haechan, Chenle, Jaemin, and Jisung, they made a comeback last July with their newest effort, ‘We Boom.” The EP, which serves as their first project since Mark graduated, is fronted by the explosive song called “Boom.”

In their comeback, the sub-unit offered a new sound, departing from their usual upbeat, light pop repertoire. Their latest EP also includes the tracks “Stronger,” “119,” “Bye My First…,” “Best Friend,” and “Dream Run.”

NCT Dream was first launched into the K-pop scene in August 2016 with the single “Chewing Gum.” They were the third sub-unit to branch out from NCT, a 21-piece K-pop collective first formed in 2016.

Other NCT sub-units include NCT U, NCT 127, and WayV -- which is a unit based in China.

NCT Dream


Latest Photo Gallery


Real Time Analytics