News / Main / Remarkable Event

EXO makes history as first group to win all 3 Daesang Awards at Melon Music Awards; group wins 'Artist of the Year'

By Carlo Rodriguez | November 21, 2016 02:36 PM EST


Well, everyone's favorite k-pop boys, EXO, had made history yet again in the recently concluded Melon Music Awards 2016 after winning their 15th consecutive Daesang. Well, if you don't know what a Daesang award is, it is basically the highest awards given by an award giving body in Korea. During the Melon Music Awards 2016, EXO took home "Artist of the Year", one of the biggest awards of the show.

But if you think 15 Daesangs are impressive, after adding Artist of the Year to their awards rack, the SM Entertainment group had also become the first k-pop group to ever win all three of the major awards. Back in 2013, the group had won "Song of the Year" with their hit song "Growl." In 2015, EXO then bagged "Album of the Year." Now that they had won Artist of the Year, they have finally completed winning the three daesang awards of the MMAs and the only group so far to do so, Allkpop reports.

Not only that, Melon Music Awards is also one of the four biggest award giving bodies in Korea alongside Mnet Asian Music Awards (MAMA), Golden Disk Awards and Seoul Music Awards. This year, the Melon Music Awards 2016 were held in the Gocheok Sky Dome in Seoul on the 19th of November.

Before EXO were given the prestigious award, they had first given their fans a treat with an explosive performance, which also became an ode to their previous songs and their journey as a group. According to iTech Post,  apart from the Artist of the Year award, the group had also taken home four more awards mainly the Top 10, Dance (Male), Netizen's Choice, and the Kakao Hot Star Awards.

It was truly a wonderful night for the boys of EXO.

Aside from EXO, BTS, TWICE and BLACKPINK too had a great night as they received the other daesang awards. Big Hit Entertainment's BTS had received "Album of the Year" while TWICE of JYP Entertainment took home "Song of the Year" with their single "Cheer Up." The Best New Artist award was given to YG Entertainment's rookie group BLACKPINK.

Tagged :  EXO, EXO-L, EXO-K, EXO-M, EXO CBX, Suho, Xiumin, Sehun, D.O, Baekhyun, Chen, Chanyeol, Kai, lay, K-Pop, Melon Music Awards, Melon Music Awards 2016, 2016, korea, music


Concert / Event 12.09.18 | 10:13AM EST

Red Velvet to Power Up the USA With Their Upcoming 'REDMARE' Concert Tour

If Red Velvet's first fanmeet in Chicago this past April was the appetizer, this full length solo concert tour in 2019 is the main course.

Oversea Event 11.29.18 | 09:33PM EST

iKon, Hong Kong Concert Ends Successfully

iKon finished last Asia tour in Hong Kong.

See Now: BTS: 41 Fun Facts You Must Know About The Most Successful Kpop Boy Band (Bangtan Sonyeondan)

Real Time Analytics