IN THE LOOP: Taeyeon 'Weekend,' Soyeon 'Beam Beam,' and More of This Week's Hottest K-Pop Releases

It has only been the first week of July 2021, and yet the K-pop industry has already dropped some amazing bops! Here is a run-down of K-pop releases that happened this week.

1. DRIPPIN - "Free Pass"

DRIPPIN made their comeback with "Free Pass" on June 29, 2021, and they sure wrapped up the month on a high note! "Free Pass" is an energetic synth-pop track that talks about the feeling of wanting to do anything and everything for the person you have feelings for. The vibrant music video is guaranteed to boost your mood!

2. SF9 - "Tear Drop"

On July 5, SF9 released their ninth mini-album, "TURN OVER," in conjunction with the title track "Tear Drop" and its music video. "Tear Drop" is an emotional dance track that makes use of UK-styled garage beats and unique bass sounds.

Lyrically, the song expresses the beauty of shedding tears through sadness. It is a definite departure from SF9's cool, chic image that they gained fame for, and fans are loving their versatility!

3. Soyeon - "Beam Beam"

After four years since her solo debut, Soyeon has finally made her comeback as a soloist on July 5 with her debut extended play, "Windy," and its lead single "Beam Beam." As (G)I-DLE's main producer, it is no surprise that Soyeon herself worked on the composition and production of all the songs on the album, as well as the lyrics.

ALSO READ: (G)I-DLE Soyeon Joins BLACKPINK, Hwasa, & More as the Only Female K-pop Artist to Secure This Feat With a Debut Album

The title track, "Beam Beam," is a fun pop-rock and hip-hop-inspired song that talks about the warmth and beauty of the sun's rays. It is a summer song that will have you wanting to head to the beach and enjoying the summer heat!

4. Even of Day - "Right Through Me"

Even of Day, DAY6's first sub-unit composed of Young K, Wonpil, and Dowoon, made their long-awaited comeback with their second mini-album, "Right Through Me," which contains its title track of the same name, on July 5.

The title track makes use of East Coast hip-hop rhythms that transport you back to the 90s, a jazzy chord progression, and a melody that is highly reminiscent of 90s Korean ballads. The song was composed by Young K, Wonpil, and Hong Ji Sang. Young K also wrote the lyrics to the song.

5. Taeyeon - "Weekend"

On July 6, Taeyeon made her comeback as a soloist with "Weekend." "Weekend" is described as a disco-pop song that stands out due to its guitar and retro synth sounds. Lyrically, "Weekend" talks about wanting to go on a trip during the weekend freely.

ALSO READ: WATCH: Girls' Generation Taeyeon Spends a Colorful 'Weekend' on the Clouds

"Weekend" peaked at number 4 on MelOn's 24Hits Real-time chart. On Bugs and Genie, "Weekend" peaked at the top of the charts. The song also topped China's QQ Music Digital Album Sales Chart and hit number one on the iTunes charts in various regions.

Which K-pop release is your favorite? Tell us in the comments below!

For more K-Pop news and updates, always keep your tabs open here on KpopStarz.

KpopStarz owns This

Written by Alexa Lewis

Girls Generation


Latest Photo Gallery


Real Time Analytics