News / Headlines / Concert / Event

Big Bang, EXO Take Home Major Trophies For 2016 Gaon Chart K-Pop Awards

By James Buhain | February 18, 2016 03:16 AM EST


Many of your favorite K-pop stars gathered and celebrated the most successful artists and groups of 2015.

On Wednesday, Feb. 17, the fifth Gaon Chart K-Pop Awards took place at Olympic Hall in Olympic Park in Seoul. Entertaining the audience throughout the night were emcees Girl's Day Yura and Super Junior's Leeteuk.

During the night, many of your favorite K-pop stars took home major trophies. The big winners were YG Entertainment's male group Big Bang and SM's superstars, EXO.

Aside from the winning speeches and trophies, there were spectacular performances from many of your K-pop stars as they entertained viewers and the audience throughout the night.

This being all said, here are the full list of winners and performances from the fifth Gaon Chart K-Pop Awards on Feb. 17.

Winners From The Gaon Chart K-Pop Awards

Discovery of the Year Indie Award


Popular Singer of the Year

So Chan Whee

Discovery of the Year Trot Award

Lee Ae Ran

Discovery of the Year Hip Hop Award


New Artist of the Year



Hot Trend of the Year

Baek Ah Yeon


Discovery of the Year R&B Award


Long-Run Song of the Year


K-Pop World Hallyu Star Award


World Rookie of the Year



Hot Performance of the Year

Red Velvet


Fan Vote Popularity Award


Weibo Star Award

EXO’s Sehun

YinYueTai Most Influential Group in Asia Award

Big Bang

Song Writer of the Year

Kim Eana

Style of the Year (Choreographer)

Yama and Hotchicks

Style of the Year (Stylist)

Ji Eun

Composer of the Year

Black Eyed Pilseung (Choi Kyu Sung and Rado)

Producer of the Year

YG Entertainment’s Yang Hyun Suk

Artist of the Year (Album Quarterly)

First Quarter: EXO

Second Quarter: EXO

Third Quarter: Super Junior

Fourth Quarter: EXO

Artist of the Year (Song - Monthly)

January: Mad Clown

February: Naul

March: MC Mong

April: miss A





September: iKON

October: Girls’ Generation‘s Taeyeon

November: Block B‘s Zico

December: PSY

Performances From Feb. 17

Lee Ae Ran; "Hundred Year Old Life"

So Chan Whee; "Tears"

Zion.T; "Yanghwa Bridge"

Baek Ah Yeon; "Shouldn't Have"

Zico; "Boys and Girls"

Mad Clown Featuring G-Friend's Yuju; "Fire"

B.A.P; "Young, Wild & Free"

VIXX; "Chained Up"

AOA Cream; "Heart Attack" and "I'm Jelly Baby"

SEVENTEEN; "Mansae" and "Shining Diamond"

G-Friend; "Me Gustas Tu" and "Rough"

BTS; "I Need U" and "Dope"

Taeyeon; "I"

Red Velvet; "Automatic" and "Ice Cream Cake"

iKON; "My Type"

EXO; "EXODUS," "Call Me Baby," "Love Me Right"

Big Bang; "BAE BAE," "Bang Bang Bang," and "We Like 2 Party"

Congratulations to all the winners.

Tagged :  Gaon Chart K-Pop Awards, EXO, Big Bang, Psy, YG Entertainment, SM Entertainment, Lee Ae Ran, So Chan Whee, iKON, Baek Ah Yeon, VIXX, g-friend, BTS, Taeyeon, Girls Generation, seventeen, AOA, aoa cream, Zico, mad clown, Red Velvet, yuju, zion.t, B.A.P, Block B, Super Junior, Leeteuk, Yura, Girls Day, Hyukoh, winner, Mino, Naul, Black Eyed Pilseung, Yang Hyun Suk, miss A, Psy, mc mong


Music Show / Music Chart 08.17.19 | 09:50AM EDT

ITZY takes home 6th trophy for 'ICY' on Music Bank

On Friday, August 16, ITZY took home yet another trophy after clinching the 6th win for their latest comeback ICY on KBS2's Music Bank. The track contended with Oh My Girl's Bungee, but the JYP Entertainment's girl group prevailed in the end after garnering a total of 4,440 points against the competing team's 3,298 points.

Comeback / Teaser / Music Video 08.17.19 | 09:41AM EDT

Hyosung Is Set To Make A Comeback This 2019

On August 14, reports say that based on some sources in the K-Pop industry, former SECRET member Hyosung would be returning in the scene in the second half of this year, 2019, with a new album.

See Now: BTS: 41 Fun Facts You Must Know About The Most Successful Kpop Boy Band (Bangtan Sonyeondan)

Real Time Analytics